Proposed by: First Reading: Second Reading: Mayor Cochran 12/04/2008 01/15/2009

Vote: 4 Aye 0 Nay 2 Absent

MUNCIPALITY OF SKAGWAY, ALASKA ORDINANCE NO. 08-24

AN ORDINANCE OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF SKAGWAY, ALASKA AMENDING CHAPTERS 3.15.010 DYEA COMMUNITY ADVISORY BOARD AND 19.10.030 HISTORIC DISTRICT COMMISSION TO AMEND MEMBERSHIP REQUIREMENTS.

WHEREAS, the Dyea Community Advisory Board and the Historic District Commission each have a representative from the National Park Service serving on these boards; and

WHEREAS, the National Park Service has issued a policy that employees may not serve in an appointed position on boards and commissions;

BE IT ORDAINED AND ENACTED BY THE MUNICIPALITY OF SKAGWAY, ALASKA AS FOLLOWS:

<u>Section 1.</u> <u>Classification.</u> This ordinance is of a general and permanent nature and shall become a part of the Skagway Municipal Code.

<u>Section 2.</u> <u>Purpose.</u> To amend Chapter 3.15.010, Dyea Community Advisory Board and Chapter 19.10.030 Historic District Commission to address membership requirements. The Skagway Municipal Code is hereby amended (<u>strike through</u>) indicates text to be deleted from, and (<u>bold underscore)</u> indicates text added to the current code.

<u>Section 3.</u> <u>Amendment.</u> Chapter 3.15.010, Dyea Community Advisory Board and Chapter 19.10.030 Historic District Commission are hereby amended as follows:

3.15.010 Establishment

There is established a Dyea Community Advisory Board to advise the city council on issues and policies relating to public lands in the Dyea and West Creek Valleys including, but not limited to, land use, planning, land disposal, land and water conservation, utilities, recreational and commercial development. Additionally, the Dyea Community Advisory Board shall be responsible for the periodic review of SMC 16.08 – Dyea Flats Management Plan. The Dyea Community Advisory Board shall consist of <u>five 5 property owners in Dyea</u>, one of which being a representative from the National Park Service <u>members: three (3) Dyea property owners and two (2) at-large community members</u>.

19.10.030 Historic district commission—created.

In order to execute the purposes of this chapter, there is created a commission to be called the "Historic District Commission." Its membership shall consist of seven (7) members: one (1) member from the National Park Service, and six (6) members, at least four (4) of whom are historic district business or property owners, from the public at large, appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the city council at least three (3) of whom are historic district business or property owners, the remainder of the membership shall be at large community members, appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the mayor and confirmed by the mayor and confirmed by the Borough Assembly. Members of the commission shall serve at the pleasure of the city council borough assembly without compensation. An Council assembly Mm ember shall serve as the ex officio member of the commission, may attend all meetings and have the privilege of the floor, but shall have no vote.

MUNICIPALITY OF SKAGWAY, ALASKA ORDINANCE NO. 08-24 Page 2 of 2

<u>Section 4.</u> <u>Severability.</u> If any provision of this ordinance or any application of the ordinance to any person or circumstance is held invalid, the remainder of this ordinance and the application to other persons or circumstances shall not be affected.

<u>Section 5.</u> <u>Effective Date.</u> This ordinance shall become effective upon adoption of the Borough Assembly.

PASSED AND APPROVED by a duly constituted quorum of the Borough Assembly of the Municipality of Skagway this 15th day of January, 2009.

Thomas D. Cochran, Mayor

ATTEST:

Marjorie D. Harris, Borough Clerk

(SEAL)