Proposed by: Assemblymember Hanson

Attorney Review: 05/01/2020 Vote: 6 Aye 0 Nay 0 Absent

## MUNICIPALITY OF SKAGWAY, ALASKA RESOLUTION NO. 20-15R

A RESOLUTION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF SKAGWAY, ALASKA AMENDING RESOLUTION NO. 20-10R TO EXPAND THE LIST OF ESSENTIAL MEETINGS.

**WHEREAS**, Assembly standing committees, the Historic District Commission, and the Port Commission may have valuable input for the Assembly during this time of COVID-19 regarding procedures, protocols, community impact, and future projects; and

**WHEREAS**, as the COVID-19 pandemic continues to require municipal oversight, these committees and commissions can be a vehicle for public input and an additional conduit between the community and the Assembly as it mitigates the impacts of COVID-19 on the community;

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT** Resolution No. 20-10R is amended to expand the list of essential meetings as follows [(strike through) indicates text to be deleted from and (bold underscore) indicates text added]:

**Section 1. Essential Meetings.** The following governmental bodies are required to meet at least monthly by Skagway municipal code, or are perceived by the Assembly to be critical to the Municipality of Skagway's efforts to mitigate the risk of COVID-19 in the community, and therefore meetings of the following governmental bodies as required by the municipal code are **currently** considered to be essential:

- a. Borough Assembly
- b. Dyea Community Advisory Board
- c. Clinic Board
- d. Finance Committee
- e. Impact Mitigation Task Force
- f. Planning and Zoning Commission
- g. Harbors Advisory Board
- h. Assembly Standing Committees
- i. Historic District Commission
- j. Port Commission

One voting member of the governmental body or committee must be physically present at the meeting to operate the telephone and/or digital recorder, except for meetings at which the borough clerk or planning clerk are required to attend by code. If a member is unable to attend the meeting for this purpose due to high-risk for COVID-19, or another reason, such meeting must be scheduled during municipal business hours, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, so staff can operate the meeting equipment at minimal risk and expense.

**Section 2. Non-Essential Meetings.** All meetings of governmental bodies not included in Section 1 are determined to be non-essential and will be canceled until further notice for the duration of the local COVID-19 emergency declaration dated March 16, 2020.

## MUNICIPALITY OF SKAGWAY RESOLUTION NO. 20-15R PAGE 2 OF 2

**Section 3. Effective Date.** This resolution shall be effective immediately upon adoption.

**PASSED AND APPROVED** by a duly constituted quorum of the Borough Assembly of the Municipality of Skagway this 7<sup>th</sup> day of May, 2020.

Andrew Cremata, Mayor

ATTEST

Emily A. Deach, Borough Clerk

(SEAL)

